The CSA Club

Monday, March 26, 2007

Written by Gonzalo Moreno

After a week of online voting, the unofficial results for the 2007 Central Student Association elections are in. Here is how your CSA executive will look this year:

Academic Commissioner: Derek Pieper

Pieper (1205 votes, or 24.71%) narrowly beat Momina Mir by less than 100 votes. Tommy Lau and Diane Chaaban came in third and fourth, respectively.

Communications Commissioner: Meaghan Hourigan

Hourigan won the most crowded race (5 candidates) by a relatively large margin (1137 votes, or 23.52%). Maanda Makwarela, Cathleen Yoo, Bob Przybyla and Troy Frost came in second, third, fourth and fifth, respectively, with vote counts no greater than 800 ballots each.

External Commissioner: Cailey Campbell

Campbell (2137 votes, or 44.10%) edged out Romesh Hettiarachchi (1916, or 39.54%).

Finance and Human Resources Commissioner: Jakki Doyle

Doyle, who was running unopposed, was elected with 77.65% of the vote.

Local Affairs Commissioner: Evan Dalzell

Dalzell, who was also running unopposed, was elected with 78.84% of the vote.

CSA Board of Directors

Bailey Simmons and Rohan Mathai (College of Arts At-Large), Wendy Sergeant and Massimo de Simone (College of Biological Science At-Large), Matt Englert and Randall Roberts (College of Physical and Engineering Sciences At-Large), Kim Svela and Andrew MacKendrick (College of Social and Applied Human Sciences At-Large) and Maggie Brown-Bury (Ontario Veterinary College At-Large) were all elected to next year’s CSA Board.

Referendum Questions

Student fee increases to support CPES Student Council, a campus chapter of Habitat for Humanity, a campus chapter of Global Youth Network, the Guelph Engineering Society, the CSA Food Bank, and the World University Service of Canada Student Refugee Program were approved through referendum questions.

A fee increase of $10 per student and semester for 12 years to help the University’s energy retrofit program was also approved.

Student fee increases to support College Royal, the CSA student financial aid endowment fund, the International Students’ Organization, CFRU, and an online version of The Ontarion were rejected through referendum questions.

Students also voted in favour of giving the University the mandate to replace Coca Cola as the University’s exclusive supplier on campus and to move towards the exclusive sale of Fair Trade coffee.

All of the above results are unofficial, pending their confirmation by the CSA Board of Directors.

| More
Bookstore First Year